Tuesday 23 June 2020

2020 Bloody Scotland Debut Shortlist and McIlvanney Prize Longlist announced

Four years ago the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who is often described as the Godfather of Tartan Noir. Last year Bloody Scotland also introduced a prize for The Bloody Scotland Debut Scottish Crime Book of the Year. This year both are sponsored by the Glencairn Glass. At a time when debut writers have suffered more than anyone else due to bookshop closures the debut prize is more important than ever:

Watch the video as Denise Mina, Richard Osman, Karen Robinson
and Ian Rankinreveal the McIlvanney longlist
and Bloody Scotland Debut Prize shortlist.


Hold Your Tongue Deborah Masson Hold Your Tongue (Transworld)
The Crown Agent Stephen O’Rourke The Crown Agent (Sandstone)
See Them Run Marion Todd See Them Run (Canelo)
Pine Francine Toon   Pine (Doubleday)


Time for the Dead
Lin Anderson Time for the Dead (Macmillan)
Bad Memory Lisa Gray Bad Memory (Thomas & Mercer)
Whirligig Andrew James Greig Whirligig (Fledgling)
A Dark Matter Doug Johnstone A Dark Matter (Orenda)
How The Dead Speak Val McDermid How the Dead Speak (Little, Brown)

The Island
Ben McPherson The Island (HarperCollins)
Bury Them Deep James Oswald Bury Them Deep (Headline)

The Art Of Dying
Ambrose Parry, 
aka Chris Broomyre and Marisa Haetzman
The Art of Dying (Canongate)

The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
Mary Paulson-Ellis The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing (Mantle)

The Red Red Snow
Caro Ramsay The Red, Red Snow (Severn House)

Watch Him Die
Craig Robertson, Watch Him Die (Simon & Schuster)

Francine Toon   Pine (Doubleday)

Finalists for the McIlvanney Prize will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner of both prizes will be revealed on Friday 18 September. The Bloody Scotland Debut Prize will be judged by a panel including crime writer and founding director of Bloody Scotland Lin Anderson and representatives from Waterstones and the Glencairn Glass. The McIlvanney Prize will be judged by Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster, James Crawford, chair of Publishing Scotland and presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky and Karen Robinson, Editor of The Times Crime Club.

The McIlvanney award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones. The 2020 longlist features established crime writers and debuts, corporates and indies. Previous winners are Manda Scott with A Treachery of Spies in 2019 (who chose to share her prize with all the finalists), Liam McIlvanney with The Quaker in 2018, Denise Mina with The Long Drop in 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow in 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012. The inaugural Bloody Scotland Debut Prize 2019 was won by Claire Askew with All The Hidden Truths.

Related links:-

Bloody Scotland website | Glencairn Glass